Once a Workplace account has been provisioned for a member of your community, you'll need to invite them to claim their account so they can start using Workplace. On the other hand, when employees leave an organization, it's crucial that they no longer have access to the contents on Workplace.
This guide describes the controls administrators have to manage the lifecycle of user accounts in Workplace.
Inviting Versus Provisioning
By having a separate status for invited and uninvited members, we allow Workplace administrators to provision members in advance and invite them when ready. Workplace administrators can set up a community by creating groups and adding members to them. Administrators can then invite people to join. That way, users are already members of their relevant groups when they're invited in to their Workplace instance.